Glowing in order to be seen

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . – I I I I I – . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I like to receive life-giving light and warmth
enlighten me to glow
as if it is something I deserve 
a reward for my unlikely presence

I can hike over mountains and down valleys
in forefathers step where twig and thorn are cleared away
where forefathers’ tired feet shaped the path
enlighten me to glow in the splendor of work done by others 
as if I do not quite want to understand
that my path showed the way long before I came

It is easiest when someone prepare for anyone to finish 
I can just put on my shoes and go
perhaps I reach out a hand to someone who needs support
I am enlightened and glowing at the thought of my pleasant gesture
while my companion, my shadow
reminds me of all the times I passed by

I try not to glow that often anymore
but when I do, it’s a reflex of an old habit
and quickly I lie down
as if to minimize 
hide the inevitable shadow
that will always be a part of me

. . . . . . . . . . . . . – I I I I I – . . . . . . . . . . . . .

About Perry Saevik

Living in Norway. As alternative stays in Spain.
This entry was posted in Poem, Thinker, Wisdom of age and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.